The quintessential Vermont experience located in the mountains between Killington and Okemo. The Buckmaster Inn was built in 1801 and has a warm and relaxed atmosphere.
Yankee Magazine describes the Inn as being decorated with soft colors and muted fabrics. An antique toy wagon sits next to the dining room fireplace filled with split wood. An old screen door covers the pantry and a garland of lights entwined on a fence in the upstairs hall is just a part of what Yankee Magazine describes as rustic country charm.
In 1800, Phineas Page gave one acre of lot 37 at the center to Dr. Asahel Holton to persuade him to settle there. The house was sold in 1804 for $450.00. By 1807 the home and land were deeded to Christopher Waterman, the center Blacksmith who died in the epidemic of 1813. The house was later sold to John and David Buckmaster in 1817. John bought out his brother, David, in 1820 and received a license to operate a tavern. Operating until at least the 1840's, it was then deeded to the Russell family who boarded summer quests and vacationers. Hence, a bed and breakfast was born! The room names reflect the Inn's history.
The Inn is a Vermont Lodging property listed on the National Registry of Historic Places.
Built Circa 1801